Facebook introduced a new feature called Manage Tasks that allows users to delete their old posts. It can be used to delete individual or bulk posts, and Facebook says it will provide filtering options to help find posts and specific people in them or in a specific time frame. The feature will come first in Facebook’s mobile applications.
According to Facebook, the feature is designed to “make it easier for you to put your presence on Facebook to accurately reflect who you are today.” For example, it suggests that one may want to remove old content when they are about to start working full time after college or delete posts that remind them of old relationships.
There are several options for removing a post in the timeline. It can be moved to trash, where it will be removed from public view immediately but permanently deleted 30 days later. (The post may be deleted shortly.) Alternatively, the post may be archived, which means it is no longer public but can still be viewed privately.
Twitter is another social platform where you may want to delete your old posts. However, the company should provide us with a removable tool for mass removal, which has proven to be a problem where old tweets have been stolen in an attempt to hijack or otherwise cause trouble for people. With no official tool on Twitter, various third-party tweet removal resources have emerged.
Manage Task is Facebook’s latest attempt to give users more control over their data. Last year, it finally launched its Clear History tool, which allows users to disconnect their web browsing data from their Facebook account. However, without its name, Dele History does not delete this data; removes the connection between it and your Facebook account.